top of page

PROJECTS
Germany / International

IMG_5260_edited.jpg

LIMPOPO (SOUTH AFRICA)
Project support and implementation

In the Limpopo province on the border with Zimbabwe WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH develops a protected area (up to 110,000 ha) designed to protect the native Lowveld dry forest of Mopane and rare Baobab trees from illegal logging and poaching.

Together with the local farming community damage caused by years of overgrazing should be reduced through sustainable forest conversion, alternatives to the current land-use and firewood should be developed. Social projects including possible new sources of income for the local, marginalized population groups should be implemented.

Through an extensive catalog of measurements this highly threatened ecosystem can be protected in the long term and returned to its original state in conjunction with the generation of marketable certificates.

The planned project duration should be 30 years.

48287127-within-Vietnamese-Jung

VIETNAM
Project development and implementation

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH cooperates in several provinces of Vietnam with both private and state forest owners and investors. Suitable forest areas should be identified and promoted for CO2 certification for the international market with regard to sustainable forest conversion and reforestation.

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH is currently working on pilot areas of around 40,000ha; the medium-term project scope will be several 100,000ha, including mangrove forests that are particularly worthy of protection.

There is a strong interest on the Vietnamese side in developing existing forest areas in the interests of climate protection measures. Through close exchange with the state forestry authorities and related structures WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH can draw on extensive data material and pass on recom-mendations for suitable measures in accordance with the international requirements for certification to its customers.

Long-term project durations of 50 years are also being sought in Vietnam.

Arcadian Forest USA_edited.jpg

MAINE (USA)
Project support and implementation

In the northeast of the USA, WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH supports an investor project (2,000 ha) to generate marketable certificates.

The aim of the measures is to change the management of relatively short rotation times due to a previous orientation for the pulp industry towards the development of diversified stocks that produce valuable wood with significantly longer rotation times.

 

As a result, an additionality of around 3 tCO₂e per hectare and year is expected on the forest side alone (initially without taking the substitution effect into account).

The project duration is 30 years.

dry forest Caprivi_edited_edited.jpg

NAMIBIA (south. AFRICA)
Project development

In the northern-east part of Namibia WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH develops a project to improve the protection of dry forests and thus actively prevent impending deforestation.

This project aims to finance the protection and preservation of community forests through the generation of carbon certificates. These certificates are intended to actively contribute to the protection of a highly sensitive ecosystem, as well as to increasing the income of the communities involved and other SDGs.

After the pilot phase the project is to be expanded to cover several 100,000 hectares of forest area.

The expected additionality is around 1 tCO₂e per hectare per year.

The project duration is planned for 50 years.

Thuringian Forest.jpg

THURINIA (D)
Project development and implementation

Dr. forest. Joachim Krug, CEO of WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH, has been appointed as the responsible co-CEO of CDR-Services Deutschland GmbH, a subsidiary of SCHWEIZERISCHE POST AG, since the beginning of 2024.

The acquisition of the second largest private forest in Thuringia by SCHWEIZERISCHE POST AG is an important step towards the desired climate neutrality and a further proof of trust in the possibilities and sustainable forest conversion here in Germany.

CDR-Services Deutschland GmbH wants to significantly increase the climate protection performance of this forest on almost 2500ha through improved climate adaptation and modified management goals.

The project duration is very long-term at 100 years.

Shutter Stock Quebec.jpg

NOVA SCOTIA (CANADA)
Mediation and advice on the purchase of forest land

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH makes its extensive international expertise in sustainable forest management available to both private individuals and investors in mediation, advice and the active search for suitable forest areas.

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH can benefit from its long-standing collaboration with partners in Germany as well as in Scandinavia, the Baltic Republics and Canada.

In Nova Scotia this has led to a cooperation through which increased climate protection services were achieved on approximately 6000 hectares of forest area through improved forestry measures. These are offered as internationally marketable certificates.

Resin.jpeg

HARZ (D)
Project development and implementation

In the eastern Harz WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH supports CO2-optimised forest management in its own areas (500 ha) which also has clearly positive ecological consequences in the course of a promising forest conversion.

 

To finance the measures through marketable certificates, we expect an additionality of up to

2 tCO₂e per hectare and year (for the time being without taking into account the substitution effect).

The project duration is 30 years.

trees-3410836_1920.jpg

BRANDENBURG (D)
Project development and implementation

In Brandenburg, WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH supports private forest owners in the certification of predominantly pine forests on about 2,500 ha.

 

The focus is on changing forest management to produce high-quality and durable wood products. As a result, on the forest side alone (for the time being without taking into account the substitution effect) an additionallity of approx. 3 tCO₂e per hectare and year is expected.

The project duration is 30 years.

Ursener Tal_edited.jpg

URSERNER TAL (CH)
Project development and implementation

The Ursern Forest and Climate Association commissioned go-climate in collaboration with WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH to develope the reforestation in the Ursern Valley as a climate protection project and have it independently certified.

 

A particular challenge here are various project areas at altitudes of up to 1800m above sea level which should be reforested in accordance with the ISO14064-2 guidelines for a sustainable Mountain forests.

 

The four tree species spruce, larch, silver fir and maple are newly planted for this purpose. Their average growth of 4.6 m3/ha/a is expected on this test area.

The project duration is very long-term at 70 years.

bottom of page

top of page

PROJECTS
Deutschland / International

IMG_5260_edited.jpg

LIMPOPO (SÜDAFRIKA)
Projektbegleitung und Umsetzung

In der Provinz Limpopo, an der Grenze zu Simbabwe, entwickelt WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH ein Schutzgebiet (bis zu 110.000 ha) das den einheimischen Lowveld-Trockenwald aus Mopane und seltenen Baobabs vor illegalem Holzeinschlag und Wilderei schützen soll.

Zusammen mit der lokalen Farmer-Community sollen durch nachhaltigen Waldumbau auch die Schäden jahrelanger Überweidung zurückgeführt werden, Alternativen zur bisherigen Land- und Feuerholz-Nutzung entwickelt und Sozialprojekte inklusive möglicher neuer Einkommensquellen für die lokalen, marginalisierten Bevölkerungsgruppen implementiert werden.

Durch einen umfangreichen Maßnahmenkatalog kann so dies stark bedrohte Ökosystem im Zusammenspiel mit der Generierung marktfähiger Zertifikate langfristig geschützt und in seinen Ursprungszustand zurückgeführt werden.  

Die anvisierte Projektlaufzeit soll 30 Jahre betragen.

48287127-innerhalb-vietnamesisch-dschung

VIETNAM
Projektentwicklung und Umsetzung

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH co-operiert in mehreren Provinzen Vietnams in enger Zusammenarbeit sowohl mit privaten als auch staatlichen Waldeigentümern und Investoren. Geeignete Waldflächen sollen hinsichtlich nachhaltigem Waldumbau und Aufforstung für eine CO2-Zertifizierung für den internationalen Markt identifiziert und gefördert werden.

Derzeit arbeiten wir an Pilotflächen um 40.000ha, der mittelfristige Projektumfang wird mehrere 100.000ha betragen, inkl. besonders schützenswerter Mangrovenwälder. 

Hier besteht auf vietnamesischer Seite ein starkes Interesse bestehende Waldgebiete im Sinne der Klimaschutzmaßnahmen zu entwickeln.

Durch einen engen Austausch mit den staatlichen Forstbehörden und verwandten Strukturen kann

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH auf umfangreiches Datenmaterial zurückgreifen und Empfehlungen für geeignete Maßnahmen gemäß den internationalen Anforderungen für eine Zertifizierung an seine Kunden weiter geben.

Langfristige Projektlaufzeiten von 50 Jahren werden auch in Vietnam angestrebt.

arkadischer Wald USA_edited.jpg

MAINE (USA)
Projektbegleitung und Umsetzung

Im Nordosten der USA begleitet WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH ein Investorenprojekt (2.000 ha) zur Generierung marktfähiger Zertifikate. Die Zielsetzung der Maßnahmen ist die Veränderung der Bewirtschaftung von relativ kurzen Umtriebszeiten aufgrund einer vorgherigen Ausrichtung für die Zellstoffindustrie hin zur Entwicklung von diversifi-zierten Beständen, die mit deutlich verlängerten Umtriebszeiten Wertholz produzieren.

Als Ergebnis werden alleine auf der Waldseite (vorerst ohne Berücksichtigung der Substitutionswirkung) eine Zusätzlichkeit von etwa 3 tCO₂e pro Hektar und Jahr erwartet. Die Projektlaufzeit beträgt 30 Jahre.

dry forest Caprivi_edited_edited.jpg

NAMIBIA (südl. AFRIKA)
Projektentwicklung

Im Norden Namibias entwickelt WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH ein Projekt zum verbesserten Schutz von Trockenwäldern und verhindert damit aktiv drohende Deforestation.

Durch dieses Projekt sollen der Schutz und Erhalt von Gemeindewäldern finanziell durch die Generierung von Carbon Zertifikaten finanziert werden. Somit sollen diese Zertifikate sowohl aktiv zum Schutz eines hochsensiblen Ökosystems beitragen, als auch zu einer Steigerung der Einkom- men der beteiligten Gemeinden und weiteren SDGs.

Das Projekt soll nach der Pilotphase auf mehrere 100.000 ha Waldfläche ausgeweitet werden.

Die erwartete Zusätzlichkeit liegt bei etwa 1 tCO₂e pro Hektar und Jahr. Die Projektlaufzeit ist für 50 Jahre vorgesehen.

Thüringer Wald.jpg

THÜRINGEN (D)
Projektentwicklung und Umsetzung

Dr. forest. Joachim Krug, CEO von WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH, ist seit Anfang 2024 als verantwortlicher Co-CEO der CDR-Services Deutschland GmbH, einer Tochter der SCHWEIZERISCHE POST AG berufen worden.

Der Erwerb des zweitgrößten Privatwaldes in Thüringen durch die SCHWEIZERISCHE POST AG ist ein wichtiger Schritt zur angestrebten Klimaneutralität und ein weiterer Vertrauensbeweis in die Möglichkei-ten und den nachhaltigen Waldumbau hier in Deutschland. 

Auf fast 2500ha will die CDR-Services Deutschland GmbH durch verbesserte Klimaanpassung und modifizierte Bewirtschaftungsziele die Klimaschutzleistung dieses Waldes signifikant erhöhen.

Projektlaufzeit ist mit 100 Jahren sehr langfristig angelegt.

Shutter Stock Quebec.jpg

NOVA SCOTIA (KANADA)
Vermittlung und Beratung beim Kauf von Waldflächen

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH stellt seine umfangreiche internationale Expertise in der nach-haltigen Waldbewirtschaftung auch bei der Vermittlung, Beratung und der aktiven Suche nach geeigneten Waldflächen sowohl Privatpersonen wie auch Investoren zur Verfügung.

WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH kann dabei von seiner langjähriger Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern in Deutschland als auch in Skandinavien, dem Baltikum und Kanada profitieren.

In Nova Scotia hat dies zu einer Co-operation geführt durch die auf ca 6000ha Waldfläche durch verbesserte forstliche Maßnahmen erhöhte Klimaschutzleistungen erreicht wurden. Diese werden als international marktfähige Zertifikate angeboten.

Harz.jpeg

HARZ (D)
Projektentwicklung und Umsetzung

Im Ostharz unterstützte WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH in eigenen Flächen (500 ha) eine CO2-optimierte Waldbewirtschaftung, die im Zuge eines zukunftsträchtigen Waldumbaus auch deutlich positive ökologische Konsequenzen mit sich führt.

 

Zur Finanzierung der Maßnahmen durch marktfähige Zertifikate erwarten wir eine Zusätzlichkeit von bis zu

2 tCO₂e pro Hektar und Jahr (vorerst ohne Berücksichtigung der Substitutionswirkung).

Die projizierte Projektlaufzeit beträgt 30 Jahre.

trees-3410836_1920.jpg

BRANDENBURG (D)
Projektentwicklung und Umsetzung

In Brandenburg unterstützte WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH Privatwaldbesitzer zur Zertifizierung von überwiegend Kiefernwäldern auf etwa 2.500 ha. Der Fokus liegt auf einer Veränderung der Waldbewirt-schaftung zur Produktion hochwertiger und langlebiger Holzprodukte.

Als Ergebnis werden alleine auf der Waldseite (vorerst ohne Berücksichtigung der Substitutionswirkung) eine Zusätzlichkeit von etwa 4 tCO₂e pro Hektar und

Jahr erwartet.

Die projizierte Projektlaufzeit beträgt 30 Jahre.

Ursener Tal_edited.jpg

URSERNER TAL (SCHWEIZ)
Projektentwicklung und Umsetzung

Der Wald- und Klimaverein Urserner Tal beauftragte go-climate in Zusammenarbeit mit WALDZERTIFIKATE INT. GmbH die Aufforstung im Urserner Tal als Klimaschutzprojekt zu entwickeln und unabhängig zertifizieren zu lassen.

Eine besondere Herausforderung stellen dabei verschiedene Projektgebiete in Höhenlagen von bis zu 1800m üNN. dar die gemäß den ISO14064-2-Richtlinien für nachhaltige Bergwälder aufgeforstet werden sollten.

Dazu werden die vier Baumarten Fichte, Lärche, Weißtanne und Ahorn neu gepflanzt. Auf dieser Testfläche wird ein durchschnittliches Wachstum von 4,6 m3/ha/Jahr erwartet.

Die Projektlaufzeit ist mit 70 Jahren sehr langfristig.

bottom of page